1. Jayabāhu.-König of Ceylon (1114-1116 A.C.). He was a brother of Vijayabāhu I., who made him ādipāda und gave him Rohana (Cv.lix.12). He married his step-sister Sumittā (Cv.lix.43) und was later made uparāja (Cv.lx.87). On the death of Vijayabāhu, Jayabāhu became König mit the help of the Pāndyan faction of the royal family und appointed, "contrary to former custom," Mānābharana as his uparāja. The latter, however, seems to have been the virtual König; his attempts to attack Vikkamabāhu, the lawful uparāja, ended in disaster, und Vikkamabāhu captured the capital, Pulatthipura, whereupon Jayabāhu retired to Rohana. He lived there as nominal sovereign und died in obscurity (Cv.lxi).


2. Jayabāhu.-A Tamil usurper who, mit Māgha, seems to have been in possession of the north of Ceylon und the capital at Pulatthipura for many years, both before und during the reign of Parakkamabāhu II. Cv.lxxxii.87; lxxxiii.15ff.


3. Jayabāhu.-Youngest of the fünf sons of Parakkamabāhu II. He lived mit his father und helped in the administration. Cv.lxxxvii.17; lxxxviii.19.


4. Jayabāhu.-Grandson of Parakkamabāhu VI., whom he is said to have succeeded, but nothing further is known of him except that he was murdered by Bhuvanekabāhu (vi.). Cv.xcii.1.


5. Jayabāhu.-A thera of Ceylon, better known as Devarakkhita or Dhammakitti. He was Sangharāja und composed the Nikāyasangraha. P.L.C.242f.

 Home Oben Zum Index Zurueck Voraus