Table II - Mental-States (sankhāra kkhandha)

Mental states are of 50 kinds (cetasika), namely:(*1)

11 Common (aññasamāna)(*2)

(a) 5 universals (sabbacitta) (in every consciousness):

  1. Consciousness-impression (phassa)
  2. Volition (cetanā)
  3. (mental) vitality (jīvita)
  4. One-pointedness (samādhi)
  5. Attention (manasikāra)

(b) 6 particulars (pakinnakā) (not in every consciousness)

  1. thought-conception (vitakka)
  2. discursive thinking (vicāra)
  3. determination (adhimokkha)
  4. effort (viriya)
  5. enthusiasm (joy) (pīti)
  6. intention (chanda)

25 Lofty, pure (sobhana)

(a) primary (in every lofty consciousness) 

  1. Confidence (saddhā) 
  2. Mindfulness (sati) 
  3. Moral shame (hiri)
  4. Moral dread (ottappa) 
  5. Generous (alobha) 
  6. Hatelessness (adosa) 
  7. Equanimity (tatramajjhattatā) 
  8. Tranquillity of mental factors (kāya-passaddhi) 
  9. Tranquillity of consciousness (citta-passaddhi)
  10. Agility or lightness of mental factors (kāya-lahutā)
  11. Agility or lightness of consciousness (citta-lahutā) 
  12. Elasticity of mental factors (kāya-mudutā) 
  13. Elasticity of consciousness (citta-mudutā) 
  14. Adaptability of mental factors (kāya-kammaññatā) 
  15. Adaptability of consciousness (citta-kammaññatā) 
  16. Proficiency of mental factors (kāya-pāguññatā) 
  17. Proficiency of consciousness (citta-pāguññatā)
  1. Uprightness of mental factors (kāya’ujukatā)
  2. Uprightness of consciousness (citta’ujukatā)

(b) 6 secondary

3 Abstinences (viratiyo):(*3)
  1. Right bodily action (sammākammanto)
  2. Right speech (sammāvācā)
  3. Right livelihood (samma-ājīvo)
 2 Boundless states (appamaññā):
  1. Compassion (karunā)
  2. Altruistic joy (muditā)
1 Faculty of wisdom (paññindriya):
  1. Non-delusion (amoha) 

= wisdom (paññā)

14 Unwholesome (akusala)

(a) 4 primary (in every unwholesome consciousness)

  1. Delusion (moha)
  2. Lack of moral shame (ahirika)
  3. Lack of moral dread (anottappa)
  4. Restlessness (uddhacca)

(b) 10 secondary (not in every unwholesome consciousness)

4 Hate rooted:
  1. Hatred (dosa)
  2. Envy (issā)
  3. Stinginess (macchariya)
  4. Worry (kukkucca)
  1. Greed (lobha)
  2. View, insight (wrong) (ditthi)
  3. Conceit, pride (māna)
  4. Sloth (thīna)
  5. Torpor (middha)
  6. Scepticism (vicikicchā)
(*1) The given sequence is based on the Abhidhammattha-Sangaha.

(*2) The moral quality of this 11 mental states depends whether they arise with a wholesome, unwholesome or neutral consciousness.

(*3) The 3 abstinences and 2 boundless states, also envy, stinginess, worry, pride, sloth and torpor, are considered as  'inconstant' (aniyata), that means they occur with the accompanied consciousness only occasionally and than only one at the time.

 Home Oben Zum Index