The 37 'things pertaining to enlightenment', or 'requisites of enlightenment' comprise the entire doctrines of the Buddha.

They are:

In M.77 all the 37 bodhipakkhiya-dhammā are enumerated and explained though not called by that name.

A detailed explanation of them is given in Vis.M. XXII. In S.XLVII, 51, 67, only the five spiritual faculties (indriya) are called bodhipakkhiya-dhammā; and in the Jhāna-Vibhanga, only the 7 factors of enlightenment (bojjhanga).

See The Requisites of Enlightenment, by Ledi Sayadaw (WHEEL 169/172).

 Home Oben Zum Index Zurueck Voraus