1. Vikkamabāhu, Vikkamabhuja, Vikkantabāhu. Surnames of King Kassapa VI. See Kassapa (21).

2. Vikkamabāhu. Son of Vijayabāhu I. and Tilokasundarī. He had two wives, Sundarī and Līlāvatī (Cv.lix.32, 49f). He was made Adipāda by Vijayabāhu I., and, when his son Gajabāhu was born, the king gave the province of Rohana for his welfare. Vikkamabāhu lived there with Mahānāgahula (Cv.lx.88f) as his capital. When Vijayabāhu died, some of Vikkamabāhu’s relations, Jayabāhu and the three sons of Mittā (Mānābharana, Kittisirimegha and Sirivallabha) conspired to keep him out of the succession, but he defeated them in various battles and took possession of the capital Pulatthipura, losing, however, Dakkhinadesa and his former province of Rohana (Cv.lxi.2f). A year later his enemies again rose in revolt, led by Mānābharana, and, as Vikkamabāhu advanced to Kalyanī to fight them, Vīradeva, of Palandīpa (q.v.) landed in Mannāra, and his attention was diverted. In the first engagements, Vikkamabāhu was defeated by Vīradeva and forced to flee to Kotthasāra, but Vīradeva was later defeated and slain at Antaravitthika. From then onwards Vikkamabāhu and the three sons of Mittā (see above) lived each in his province, but became unpopular both with the sangha and the laity owing to their greed and lust. Following the death of Jayabāhu and the Queen Mittā, Vikkamabāhu appears to have been acknowledged king (Vikkamabāhu II.); and it was evidently as such that the birth of his nephew, the prince who after became Parakkamabāhu. I., was reported to him. Vikkamabāhu had two sons, Mahinda, and Gajabāhu, but asked that his nephew should be sent to the court; this request, however, was not granted (Cv.lxii.58f). Vikkamabāhu reigned, till his death, for twenty one years (1116 1137 A.C.), and was succeeded by his son Gajabāhu. Cv.lxiii.18.

3. Vikkamabāhu. Son of Gajabāhu and brother of Colagangakumāra. Cv.lxx.238.

4. Vikkamabāhu. Younger brother of King Kittinissanka. He became king on the death of Vīrabāhu I., but reigned for only three months (in 1196 A.C.), after which he was slain by Codaganga. Cv.lxxx.28.

5. Vikkamabāhu. The king who succeeded Parakkamabāhu V. He was himself succeeded by Bhuvenakabāhu V. Cv.xci. 1, 3; he seems to have reigned for eighteen years (1347 75 A.C.). See Cv. Trs. ii.212, n.2.

 Home Oben Zum Index Zurueck Voraus