The name given to the Buddhist Canon as compiled by the Elders at the Rājagaha Council (Mhv.iii.40).

It was considered the most orthodox; from it seventeen other schools branched off from time to time in later ages, as a result of schisms in the Order (Mhv.v.1f).

The followers of Theravādā are called Theravādins (E.g., Cv.xxxviii.37) and their succession, Theravamsa (E.g., Cv.lii.46; liv.46).

 Home Oben Zum Index Zurueck Voraus