A sect founded in Pagan by Chapata and his four companions: Rāhula, Ananda, Sīvali and Tāmalinda.

It first enjoyed the patronage of King Narapatisithu, but later the sect split into four sections, each following one of the four theras who had come from Ceylon. Sās.65, 66; Bode, op. cit., 19, 23f.

 Home Oben Zum Index Zurueck Voraus