Niraya (hell). Various lists of Nirayas are found in the books. In the Jātaka Commentary* occurs the following:

The Samyutta and Anguttara Nikāyas and the Sutta Nipāta contain a different list:

The Commentaries explain (E.g., AA.ii.853) that these are not separate Nirayas but specified periods of suffering in Avīci. The Devadūta Sutta (M.iii.185) of the Majjhima Nikāya contains yet another list:

Other names, also, occur sporadically   e.g.,

The most fearful of the Nirayas is, however, the Avīci-mahā-niraya (see s.v. Avīci).

* J.v.266, 271; the same list is found in Dvy.67, except that Raurava is substituted for Jalaroruva and Mahāraurava for Dhūmaroruva.

Niraya Vagga. The twenty second chapter of the Dhammapada.

1. Niraya Sutta. Five things that lead to hell: destruction of life, theft, lust, falsehood, liquor. A.iii.170; also 204.

2. Niraya Sutta. Six things that lead to hell: (A.iii.432)

  1. taking life,
  2. theft,
  3. living carnally,
  4. falsehood,
  5. evil desires and
  6. wrong views.

 Home Oben Zum Index Zurueck Voraus