The books contain a list of seven great lakes, situated in the Himālaya. They form the sources of the five great rivers and dry up only when four suns appear in the world. These seven lakes are

  1. Anotatta,
  2. Sīhapapāta,
  3. Rathakāra,
  4. Kappamundā,
  5. Kunāla,
  6. Chaddanta and
  7. Mandākinī

(A.iv.101; also at J.v.415; SNA.407; DA.i.164; UdA.300; AA.ii.759).

Sometimes (E.g., Vsm.416) Hamsapātana is given in place of Mandākinī.

 Home Oben Zum Index Zurueck Voraus