1. Jayabāhu.-King of Ceylon (1114-1116 A.C.). He was a brother of Vijayabāhu I., who made him ādipāda and gave him Rohana (Cv.lix.12). He married his step-sister Sumittā (Cv.lix.43) and was later made uparāja (Cv.lx.87). On the death of Vijayabāhu, Jayabāhu became king with the help of the Pāndyan faction of the royal family and appointed, "contrary to former custom," Mānābharana as his uparāja. The latter, however, seems to have been the virtual king; his attempts to attack Vikkamabāhu, the lawful uparāja, ended in disaster, and Vikkamabāhu captured the capital, Pulatthipura, whereupon Jayabāhu retired to Rohana. He lived there as nominal sovereign and died in obscurity (Cv.lxi).

2. Jayabāhu.-A Tamil usurper who, with Māgha, seems to have been in possession of the north of Ceylon and the capital at Pulatthipura for many years, both before and during the reign of Parakkamabāhu II. Cv.lxxxii.87; lxxxiii.15ff.

3. Jayabāhu.-Youngest of the five sons of Parakkamabāhu II. He lived with his father and helped in the administration. Cv.lxxxvii.17; lxxxviii.19.

4. Jayabāhu.-Grandson of Parakkamabāhu VI., whom he is said to have succeeded, but nothing further is known of him except that he was murdered by Bhuvanekabāhu (vi.). Cv.xcii.1.

5. Jayabāhu.-A thera of Ceylon, better known as Devarakkhita or Dhammakitti. He was Sangharāja and composed the Nikāyasangraha. P.L.C.242f.

 Home Oben Zum Index Zurueck Voraus